19
Feb
10

Quandary

This is more of complaint than a real “topic of discussion.”  I’m feeling frustrated because I haven’t been able to spend more time recently writing here.  See, there’s this little thing called making money.  Money sucks.

Don’t get me wrong – I have a friggin’ awesome job.  I get to teach what I love, and I actually really enjoy teaching, so that’s a double win in my book.  However, teaching requires time if you’re going to do it right.  You actually have to prep for your class(es), grade homework in a timely manner and in general stay on top of crap.  None of which I objectively mind doing.  But the next thing I know, I’ve gone almost three weeks without making new art and without getting to geek out here, which is frustrating when I realize it.

I know, I know.  Balance.  Or suck it up and don’t do anything outside teach and art.  Which are both valid points and would keep me from complaining here.  But it doesn’t really address my underlying concern – how the hell do other artists do it?  How do you support yourself?  How do you have a life?  How do you keep making new work?  Are there secrets that I’m not privy to?  Time-honored maneuvers that miraculously free up a whole day during the week?  Again, I know I’m not the only one feeling this way.  It’s just baffling to me that again there isn’t more chatter about this, or god forbid, an actual solution to real problem – how do you actually make a living as an artist?

Apparently this is something that is frequently on my mind these days.  I’ve entered those first few months out of grad school where that joyous freedom from reality has shifted to the cacophony of demands that reality makes, which deafen me to what once was my only concern – making art.  And it kinda sucks that I actually like what I can do with money – I’d like to buy a house (or more likely a condo) someday, I love to travel, I love good food and eating out.  All of these things require money, and not an insignificant amount.  So I work.  And since my art currently is not generating any incoming source of revenue, that means I’m working on something that is not what I really wish I could spend all day every day doing.  Again, love teaching.  It’s just not the absolute top of my list.

0 Responses to “Quandary”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Who I am…

I am a self-professed geek. I happen to be an artist. I like to geek out about art, specifically photography.

I have another location on the interwebs here

And if you need a photography tutor, check me out
here

Enter your email address to subscribe to my ramblings via email.

Join 33 other followers

i tweet


