13
May
10

More new work

I seem to still be engaged with these new minimalist images.  In my brain, there is a link between what I think about with regards to these distortions of space and light and my murals (my BIG project that is currently on hold).  One of the most fascinating aspects of photography for me right now is not so much the traditional nature of image-making, but rather the viewer’s perception of the actual photograph, distanced and removed from the intent of the artist.  How do we read photographs right now?  It has become second nature for us to process images since it is almost impossible for a person to go a day without seeing at least one – the internet, billboards, posters, advertising, tv.  So what do “traditional” photographs mean given this context?  That could be one way of approaching things.  I’ve obviously gone another.  What happens when you work with the photographic medium, but the resultant images don’t appear to be photographs?

I have a lot more to say on this topic, but think I have to wait for my caffeine to kick in to really write it out.  In the mean time, here are some more images from this new series….

6 Responses to “More new work”


  1. May 13, 2010 at 10:19 am

    Great new work Amy! Interested in them all, but the first and the last are the most intreguing. Minimal with an interesting “vibration”. Want to see them in person.
    Cheers
    shef

  2. May 13, 2010 at 11:00 am

    Thanks Shef! Working on prints currently. Will definitely keep you posted!

  3. May 27, 2010 at 9:15 am

    Interesting. The viewer’s perception also fascinates me. Maybe we should be more aware of how we interprete all images including 3D reality. I guess when I see images such as these they allow my imagination to run free based on other visual experience. Here there is no context because of the scale so it invites a certain curiosity as to their origen. But in themselves they are quite universal.

  4. May 27, 2010 at 1:54 pm

    Perception is a fascinating subject of artistic exploration. Have you ever read about Futurism? I’ve been working on a collection/style called “Neo-Futurism” which uses multiple exposure photography to explore the way we approach and visually explore an object or place. We don’t just “see” something as one still frame or one perfect instant. Our mind is constantly processing and interpreting 30+ images per second to create what we recognize as a cow or a house, or whatever. As our brain is processing these images, we are getting closer or further away, tilting our head this way and that, moving around the object. etc. All of these views combine to create our impression, our perception, of what this object is and what this thing looks like. So what I want to know, is why does art have to be of this one split second, this one unattainably “perfect” moment, when this truly has no relationship to reality, only perception. Ok, sorry about the rant, here’s the address to my Neo-Futurist work if you want to read the artist statement or check out the images. http://erinsparler.com/artwork/bodies/neofuturism/

    • May 28, 2010 at 2:32 am

      This reminds me of how when I am walking past anything,I often think of how there are infinite possibilities of still images to be made from it simply by a movement as you said. I then ask myself why I would choose certain views over others (not neccessarily just one either). It would be interesting to know if many people did the same experiment if you would get any sort of cohesive results as to a choice of preferences or not. I don’t have any answers, the closest I get is in thinking that perhaps our brains are wired to go for clarity of image -seeing what something is could have been more useful at an evolutionary level. On the other hand, that doesn’t really explain why we also respond positively to ambiguity & unclear imagery.
      I find your approach interesting in that you show several perceptions & they all remain aesthetically pleasing because of your choices.


Leave a Reply

Who I am…

I am a self-professed geek. I happen to be an artist. I like to geek out about art, specifically photography.

I have another location on the interwebs here

And if you need a photography tutor, check me out
here

Enter your email address to subscribe to my ramblings via email.

Join 31 other followers

i tweet


