05
Jun
11

First Real Exhibition!!!

That’s right folks.  The reason I’ve been so quiet here for the last few months is that I have been working away at finishing all of the images and sound for my first ever real exhibition!  And by that, I mean, the first exhibition where I have more than 2 pieces in the show, where I’m not sharing wall space with 50 other people.  I mean that the most wonderful folks at Real Art Ways got me a year ago, and they are now saying “Have at.  Here’s a room.  Do what you will with it.”  I get an entire gallery to install my own work.  This is somewhat miraculous to me.  And it makes such a huge difference.  I can’t wait to see everything installed, hung and playing all at the same time!

See, this is the thing with working on a huge scale.  I don’t have 14 foot ceilings in my studio.  I don’t even have enough wall space to hang all 9 murals at the same time.  When I put them up in the gallery it will be the first time I can step back from the work and see it as I imagined.  Totally unreal.

And, see, there’s this other cool thing about the project.  I’m finally doing my sound!  I’ve been toying with sound art/music/digital-aural-chaos for about 3 years, but I’ve never really put myself out there with it.  I love doing it, it makes sense with where the overall project is going, but most of the time I’m getting my work into group photography shows, and that doesn’t quite lend itself to the inclusion of sound installations.  Again, amazingly unreal.

So, if you happen to be in the greater Hartford, CT area any time this summer, you should go see the show.  It should be amazing.  And the call for proposals that made this all happen is their annual Step Up program where they foster emerging artists and give them their break, so you won’t just get to see my work, but the amazing work of 5 other artists who got their chance.

Here’s the postcard image for the show and then the details from the back of the postcard.

And as always, thanks for stopping by…..

2 Responses to “First Real Exhibition!!!”


  1. June 6, 2011 at 2:29 am

    Congratulations indeed Amy! How exciting for you. No wonder I’ve been missing my ‘Amy Treats’ of late…you’ve been deep in the zone.

    I wish you inspired viewers with deep pockets 🙂

    warm cheers and blue skies


Leave a Reply

Who I am…

I am a self-professed geek. I happen to be an artist. I like to geek out about art, specifically photography.

I have another location on the interwebs here

And if you need a photography tutor, check me out
here

Enter your email address to subscribe to my ramblings via email.

Join 33 other followers

i tweet


